Search Results

Delaware Law Salutes Wolcott Fellows

2018 Wolcott Fellows

Five Delaware Law School students serve each academic year as Wolcott Fellows to the justices of the Supreme Court of Delaware. 

As Wolcott Fellows, students serve as judicial clerks, working approximately 20 hours per week, performing legal research, writing draft opinions, and attending weekly oral argument sessions at the Supreme Court Courthouse in Dover, Delaware.

Wolcott Fellows receive academic credit and either a cash grant or a tuition-remission scholarship grant, funded by Delaware Law School for the duration of their Fellowship with the Court.

The Josiah Oliver Wolcott Fellowship is the only fellowship program in American legal education that offers students an opportunity to serve as a clerk for a justice of the Delaware Supreme Court or the Delaware Court of Chancery.  

The program is named for Josiah Oliver Wolcott, a native of Dover, Delaware.  Mr. Wolcott was a lawyer, politician, and judge who was elected Delaware attorney general in 1912, and then to the U.S. Senate four years later.  He resigned from the Senate in 1921 to become Chancellor of Delaware’s renowned Delaware Court of Chancery, where he served until his death in 1938 at age 61.

Current Wolcott Fellow Joseph D. Farris, III, commented that, “The Wolcott Fellowship experience is a prestigious and unparalleled law school opportunity that has allowed me to serve and learn directly from Justice Valihura, her staff, and others within the Delaware Supreme Court.  I have been afforded the chance to further develop my legal writing and analytical skills, and witness first-hand at oral arguments how the Court engages the legal and, at times, factual issues on appeal to decide the outcome of various civil and criminal matters.  I feel fortunate to have shared in the experience and believe that I will draw upon the gained insight and lessons learned for years to come.”

  • The 2018-2019 Wolcott Fellows are:
  • Carlene S. Clark, who is assigned to The Honorable Collins J. Seitz, Jr.;
  • Joseph D. Farris, III, who is assigned to The Honorable Karen L. Valihura;
  • Travis S. Gray, who is assigned to The Honorable Gary F. Traynor;
  • Justin S. Pollard, who is assigned to The Honorable James T. Vaughn, Jr.; and
  • Gordon W. Prince, who is assigned to The Honorable Leo E. Strine, Jr., Chief Justice of the Delaware Supreme Court.

The tradition of Delaware Law students serving as Wolcott Fellows to the Delaware Supreme Court began in 1988.